Explore Australia’s dark literature past, present, and future all in one landmark anthology.

WINNER – Australian Shadows Award 2010 – Best Edited Publication
NOMINATED – Bram Stoker Award 2010 – Superior Achievement in an Anthology
NOMINATED – Aurealis Awards 2010 – Best Anthology
NOMINATED – Ditmar Awards 2010 – Best Anthology
WINNER – Aurealis Award for Best Horror Short Story 2010 for “The Fear” by Richard Harland

Macabre; A Journey through Australia's Darkest Fears

Edited by Angela Challis & Marty Young (Brimstone Press, 2010)
ISBN-13: 9780980567748

Macabre is a snapshot of the fears that have gripped Australians for over 200 years: the isolation of the bush, monstrous fauna, supernatural terrors, violence, war, terrorism, alienation, cannibalism, and murder. From the very earliest colonial ghost stories through to grim tales of modern life, Macabre will take you on a journey through the terrifying heart of Australian horror.

At a massive 672 pages, with a detailed essay on the history of Australian horror, an Australian horror fiction timeline, and 38 stories from three eras (classics, modern masters, and new era originals), Macabre is, without doubt, the most significant anthology of Australian horror ever published.

Praise for Macabre

“The volume will surely be seletected from bookshelves and e-readers for generations to come.”
– Rocky Wood, Bram Stoker nominated author

“The must have collection for 2010 or any year for  that matter.”
– Jeff Ritchie (ScaryMinds)

“Macabre is destined to be regarded as a landmark Australian anthology – up there with Congreve’s Intimate Armageddons and Blackmore’s Terror Australis”
– Chuck McKenzie (HorrorScope)